Thursday, February 23, 2006

The Crystal Method- Community Service II


The US electronic group The Crystal Method are back with a new release this week, which will be a first for them too: a soundtrack.Until I will get my hands on that one, a couple of words about their previous album: CS II. Althought never a big fan of them, like the case for Chemical Bros too, this one is a good mix of hard break beats, UK style flavors and their own usual Nu skool stuff. It is hard to belief that these guys started in 1993 along with other veterans like The Prodigy, Orbital or the Chem B. but they are still very much alive on the musical scene today (The first movie soundtrack scored by the L.A. DJ duo -The London movie- was slated for release in the US on February 10, 2006 with the soundtrack hitting stores starting tomorrow, the 24th Feb 2006)

Label: Ultra Records
Lenght: 76:39
Track List:
1. The Crystal Method - Intro
2. PMT - Gyromancer (Elite Force Mix)
3. Elite Force - Ghetto Fabulous
4. Hyper - Come With Me
5. The Doors - The Crystal Method vs. The Doors (Roadhouse Blues Remix)
6. Evil Nine - We Have the Energy
7. Dylan Rhymes feat. Kathrine Ellis - Salty (Meat Katie Mix)
8. The Crystal Method - Keep Hope Alive (J.D.S Mix)
9. Koma + Bones - SpeedFreak
10. The Crystal Method feat. Kevin Beber - Kalifornia
11. Uberzone - Octopus
12. UNKLE - Reign (False Prophet Mix)
13. The Crystal Method - Starting Over (Elite Force Mix)
14. The Crystal Method - Bound Too Long (Hyper Mix)
15. New Order - Bizarre Love Triangle (The Crystal Method CSII Mix)
16. Smashing Pumpkins - 1979 (New Originals 1799 remix)
--Personal preferences--
Stars: 4 out of 5
Likes: 1,2,4,7,9,11,12,13,14
Neutral: 3,5,8,10,15
Dislikes: 6,
Currently they are touring the US in support of the album -mostly DJing gigs, though-! With songs from PMT, Elite Force, Meat Katie, Koma & Bones, Dylan Rhymes, Evil Nine, Uberzone, Hyper, UNKLE, and even the Doors and Smashing Pumpkins, this is nothing but pure quality.

Outside review:
PMT start it up with Gyromancer which is remixed and reworked by rising star Elite Force. This dark and dirty track gives the overall feeling of this disc perfectly. Elite Force also steps in to handle duties on the next track "Ghetto Fabulous." The acid-infused breaks are laid over some crunchy drums and funky bass to bring the tempo up a notch. Next up is the crowning moment of the entire CD and it's only in the number four position on the disc. UK native Hyper throws out one of the baddest tracks present in today's breaks scene, "Come with Me." The intoxicating vocals entice patrons to the dance floor while the banging drums and bass guide them there. Stitched to the Hyper track is a Crystal Method original track. The Crystal Method vs. The Doors (Roadhouse Blues Remix) is a breakbeat rendition of the Doors song "Roadhouse Blues." The vocals are nestled upon a bed of hard-pounding bass and they give an old school-meets-nu skool feel to the whole track. Nothing but superb.
Next up is the UK breaksters Evil Nine. In addition to being their DJ touring partners on this tour, they also are some pretty damn awesome producers. "We Have the Energy" has soulful vocals and a dirty grinding bassline. It is a perfect fit for this mix. Further into the mix finds Koma & Bones doing what they do best on "Speedfreak." The pulsating rhythms of this track are combined with a vocal that sounds like a public service announcement, but you can still shake your ass to it. Fellow Californian Uberzone drops his track "Octopus" into the mix. Unfortunately, only two and three quarter minutes of this track are used, but it shows why Uberzone is one of the most in-demand domestic breaks acts today. James Lavelle and Richie File form the ever mysterious group UNKLE; their track "Reign" appears next with the "False Prophet Remix." This track was an instant success after its release last year and it just keeps getting better. TCM drops their version of the New Order song "Bizarre Love Triangle." Their CSII mix is quite a departure from the original, but it is just as danceable as the first one. The vocals are kept intact and married with a funky breakbeat drum pattern and dark synth riffs. Rounding out this mix is Smashing Pumpkins with "1979." The New Originals give it their breaks spin with the 1799 remix. The hook creeps out of nowhere and before you know it your saying to yourself "is that Smashing Pumpkins?" Totally awesome.

No comments: